Class 8 Social Science (Civics) Chapter 3 Why Do We Need a Parliament

Teacher: Harmeet Kaur Sodhi Date: 03 /08/2021

**Short Questions** 

Question 1. When did India become independent?

Answer: On 15th August 1947.

Question 2. Which is the most important symbol of Indian democracy and a key feature of the Constitution?

Answer: The Parliament is an important symbol and key feature of Indian democracy.

Question 3. What is Universal Adult Franchise?

Answer: It means that all Adult Citizens of the country who are 18 years and above irrespective of their caste, status, gender and religious background have the right to vote.

Question 4. Name the supreme law making body in our country?

Answer: Parliament is the supreme law making body in our country

Question 5. What all does the Parliament consists of in India?

Answer:Parliament consists of the President, Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha in India.

Question 6. What is EVM?

Answer: EVM stands for Electronic Voting Machine. It was used throughout the country for the first time in 2004 for general elections

Question7. What is the tenure of the Lok Sabha?

Answer: 5 years.

Question8. What is the tenure of the Rajya Sabha?

Answer: 6 years.

Question 9. How many elected members are there in Lok Sabha?

Answer:543 elected members.

Question 10. Who selects ministers to work with him/her to implement decisions?

Answer: The Prime Minister selects ministers.

Question 11. Name the two houses of parliament.

Answer: The two houses of parliament are

- Lok sabha(house of people)
- Rajya Sabha(Council of States)

Question 12. Who presides over the meetings of Rajya sabha?

Answer: The Vice President of India.

Question 13: Who presides over the meetings of Lok sabha?

Answer: The Speaker of the house.

Question14:Name the three organs of the Government?

Answer: The three organs of the government are:

- Legislative
- Executive
- Judiciary

Question 15. How many elected and nominated members are there in Rajya Sabha?

Answer: There are 233 elected and 12 nominated members in Rajya Sabha.